PDA

View Full Version : CFC Bulletin 1973 Nov-Dec No.1

Egidijus Zeromskis
01-12-2012, 01:29 AM
From the old thread

I would think more value would be had by scanning all of the previous year's chess magazines.

Ok. I'll do the first one, you'll take rest :D
https://docs.google.com/viewer?pid=explorer&srcid=0B1kCx1YOANRgOWQ2MTkzY2EtNTAzMi00YTMzLTliZjE tYTQ5ZDI1NTkwMmMz&chrome=true&docid=4ad6b96cf650c82de32c9280f3e1ee73|0ea502ec69f 9897cf9538f0393fa9520&a=bi&pagenumber=1&w=400

A whole bulletin @ https://docs.google.com/open?id=0B1kCx1YOANRgOWQ2MTkzY2EtNTAzMi00YTMzLTliZ jEtYTQ5ZDI1NTkwMmMz

Your move :)

Jonathan Berry
01-12-2012, 09:56 PM
Nice job of scanning and packaging, Egis. A pp. 38 + iv magazine in only 3.6 MB. I'll leave copyright considerations to others. I am not a lawyer, but it is my impression that if the CFC publishes the magazines--the entire magazines, not excerpts--in digital format, it might avoid the fate of the publishers in the case of Heather Robertson versus Thomson et al. Your putting each issue of the mag in its own file seems ideal from that point of view. This is not legal advice. IANAL.

I have about a dozen CFC mags, complete, scanned, but not in so handy a format. AFAIR, they are in multiple jpg's. Also, the text near the spine is more distorted, because the magazines have been bound year-by-year.

Egidijus Zeromskis
01-13-2012, 10:25 AM
Nice job of scanning and packaging

Thnx.

It lacks the OCR as it would provide a search possibility instead of browsing and looking for e.g. J.Berry's articles :)

While text cleaned nicely, pictures are not so good. I forget a trick to use a black sheet of a paper to minimize effects of the paper transparency.

Fred McKim
01-13-2012, 01:48 PM
Thnx.

It lacks the OCR as it would provide a search possibility instead of browsing and looking for e.g. J.Berry's articles :)