Tournament website -

The tournament has several changes compared to previous editions. Many fours.

Details ( on the website ) On Saturday January 4th, 2020.

Location: Magna Room at Aurora Public Library (15145 Yonge Street, Aurora)

4 round CFC regular rated tournament in two sections: Odd and Even. Top 4 players from each section go into a round robin blitz tournament (CFC active rated) where final prizes are won!

Regular tournament

Eligibility: no rating restrictions, players shall have the CFC membership (it's possible to pay dues at

Format: 4 round Swiss system tournament.

Two sections: players are sorted by CFC rating, then odd numbered (1, 3, 5 etc) players go to Odd section, even (2, 4, 6) ones to Even.

Time control: 55 min + 5 sec


Pairing - 9:15
Round 1 – 9:30
Round 2 – 11:30 (or ASAP)
Round 3 – 14:30
Round 4 – 16:30 (or ASAP)

Four first places from each section enter into the Blitz tournament.

Tie-break criteria:

Buchholz (sum of opponents scores)
Greater number of wins
Greater number of wins with Black

Both sections are rated by the CFC standard rating system.


Four first players from each section enter the blitz tournament.
Format: Round robin system tournament
Time control: 3 min + 2 sec starting from move one.
Schedule: the tournament starts at 18:45 and will last about 80 minutes.
Tie-break system:

Greater number if wins
Direct encounter

The blitz tournament is rated by the CFC active rating system.


Four first places of the Blitz tournament will receive prizes (based on 50 players in the regular tournament):


(prizes are not split)


Entry fees:

Early bird - $30 prior to December 3, 2019.
Regular - $40 prior to January 3, 2020.
At the door - $60 on the tournament day before 9 am.

Cancellation: refunded paid entry fee minus $5 if cancelled before January 2nd, 2020. Later on - no refund.


Online -
At the Aurora Chess Club
On the tournament day by 9 am ($60)


All equipment (chess sets, boards, clocks, scoresheets) provided
Arbiter and organizer – Egidijus Zeromskis ( )

There are already 14 players.

# Name Rating City/Town
1 FM Nicholas Vettese 2372 Toronto, ON
2 Isai Berengolts 2128 Richmond Hill, ON
3 Brendan Cater 1875 Brampton, ON
4 Aayush Ajith 1867 Brampton, ON
5 Vinushan Vijendra 1760 Bradford, ON
6 Chris Tapping 1606 Richmond Hill, ON
7 Eric Qian 1587 Newmarket, ON
8 Daniel Zhang 1493 Richmond Hill, ON
9 Heye Gao 1432 Aurora, ON
10 Aarush Ajith 1380 Brampton, ON
11 Leon Xu 1322 Aurora, ON
12 Cameron Herbert 1266 Woodbridge, ON
13 Kyler Chi-Rey Cheng 980 Richmond Hill, ON
14 Ashley Qian 968 Newmarket, ON