Page 1 of 3 123 LastLast

Thread: looking for a chess teacher

Default looking for a chess teacher

Hello,

I'm a player of around 1350 CFC and would like to bring my game to a higher level.

Currently living in Vancouver, BC and is desperately looking for a chess tutor.

Any feedback will be appreciated.
    Last edited by Berthold Chiang; 12-08-2008 at 07:19 PM.

I've been playing in tournaments on and off for the last 9 years without much success and the study of various chess books have been a failure.

The great Capablanca once said that the study of a book would not teach a student how to play, and that it merely acts as a guide. Wondering if there's a grain of truth in what he said.

Quote Originally Posted by Berthold Chiang
    I've been playing in tournaments on and off for the last 9 years without much success and the study of various chess books have been a failure.
    It might mean that your books were too advanced for you. What are percentages of correct solved problems by you in these books? (My hardest book was Dvoretsky's Art of Analyzes in Russian. I could not manage it. Soon I will try his Analytical Manual (probably it is updated/revised version). Wish me luck

From my experience with a low-level (low-rating) players: their most weakest point - non ability to see the whole board what leads to sore blunders.
    To overcome this issue for my son (~1000cfc), I'm helping him to solve a lot of simple problems. His is getting more excited about chess when he does that, too.

I wish you to find a person who will go through your games and will point your weakness, and will build a plan for improvements. [I looked through your CFC records - you should play more
    Last edited by Egidijus Zeromskis; 12-09-2008 at 06:24 PM.
    .*-1

Blog Entries